New Board Members Elected
In March, AIHA announced the election results for its 2020–2021 Board of Directors. AIHA members voted for vice president, secretary-elect, and two directors. The following candidates were elected:
Donna S. Heidel, MS, CIH, FAIHA,
was elected AIHA’s new vice president. She previously served on the AIHA Board in 2014–2020 in the positions of director, treasurer-elect, and treasurer. She also serves on the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation’s Board of Directors. Heidel joined AIHA in 1988 and has served on many committees. In 2011 and 2013, she was awarded the AIHA President’s Award. Heidel works as national practice leader in industrial hygiene for Apex Companies, LLC, in North Carolina.
Kimberly M. Castillon, CIH
, a member since 1999, was elected as a director. She currently serves as treasurer for AIHA’s Western Massachusetts Local Section. She previously served on the board of directors of the American Board of Industrial Hygiene and as a councilor for the Academy of Industrial Hygiene. Castillon is the audit program manager for OSHA Region 1 and lives in Boston, Massachusetts.
Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH,
was elected secretary-elect. King, an AIHA member since 2015, has served as a director on the AIHA Board from 2017 to the present. He also served as chair of AIHA’s Technology Initiatives Strategic Advisory Group in 2019–2020 and as Board liaison for the AIHA Standards Advisory Panel, AIHA Local Section Council/Advisory Group, and AIHA Student Local Sections Council. King is an industrial hygienist at NIOSH in Denver, Colorado.
Bernard L. Fontaine, Jr., CIH, CSP, FAIHA,
was also elected as an AIHA director. He has been a member of AIHA since 1981 and previously served as president and director of membership of AIHA’s New Jersey Local Section. Fontaine has also served on the AIHA Fellows Special Interest Group, AIHA’s Government Relations Committee, the Youth@Work Talking Safety Committee, and the board of directors for Workplace Health Without Borders – U.S. Branch. He is managing partner at The Windsor Consulting Group, Inc.
AIHA’s new Board members will be inducted at the association's annual business meeting, which will be held virtually on Thursday, June 11, from 12 to 1 p.m. ET. All members who wish to attend the meeting must
register in advance
. AIHA’s Board of Directors for 2020–2021 includes the following officers: • President: J. Lindsay Cook, MSPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA • President-Elect: John R. Mulhausen, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA • Vice President: Donna S. Heidel, MS, CIH, FAIHA • Past President: Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH • Treasurer: Nicole M.H. Greeson, MS, CIH • Secretary: Dina M. Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP, FAIHA • Secretary-Elect: Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH • AIHA Chief Executive Officer: Lawrence Sloan, CAE The following members will serve as AIHA Directors for 2020–2021: • Kimberly M. Castillon, CIH  • Srinivas Durgam, CIH, CSP • Bernard L. Fontaine, Jr., CIH, CSP, FAIHA • Pamela A. Kostle, MS, CIH, FAIHA • Michael A. Ochs, MPA, CIH, CSP • Lucinette Alvarado Rivera, MS, CIH

thesynergist | COMMUNITY