New Board Members Elected
Last month, AIHA announced the election results for its 2019–2020 Board of Directors. AIHA members voted for vice president, treasurer- elect, and two directors. The following candidates were elected:
John R. Mulhausen, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA, was elected AIHA’s new vice president. Mulhausen joined AIHA in 1980. He previously served on the AIHA Board in 1998–2001 and held the positions of vice president, president-elect, president, and past president of the Academy of Industrial Hygiene in 2004–2008. Mulhausen, a member of AIHA’s Exposure Assessment Strategies Committee, was the 2002 recipient of the Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award and received the Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award in 2009. He retired in 2018 after 31 years with 3M Company.
Nicole Greeson, MS, CIH, was elected treasurer-elect. She has been a member of AIHA since 2001 and has served on many volunteer groups, including the Mentoring and Professional Development Committee and the Healthcare Working Group. Greeson held the positions of vice chair, chair, and past chair of the Mentoring and Professional Development Committee during 2014–2017. She is currently director of the Occupational Hygiene and Safety Division of Duke University and Health System in Durham, N.C.
Lucinette Alvarado, MS, CIH, was elected as an AIHA director. Alvarado has been a member of AIHA since 2007 and is a member of AIHA’s Minority Special Interest Group and the Pittsburgh Local Section. She has experience in the chemical, manufacturing, steel and pharmaceutical industries, and currently works as an industrial hygienist in the Product Safety and Regulatory Affairs group at Covestro LLC in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Srinivas Durgam, CIH, CSP, an AIHA member since 2005, was also elected as a director. He is a past chair of both the Hazard Prevention and Engineering Controls Committee and the Laboratory Health and Safety Committee. Durgam served as president of the Eastern Upstate New York Local Section in 2014–2016. He is currently global EHS manager with GE Additive (General Electric) in Niskayuna, N.Y.
AIHA’s new Board members will be inducted at the association’s annual business meeting on Wednesday, May 22, at AIHce EXP 2019 in Minneapolis, Minn. AIHA’s Board of Directors for 2019–2020 includes the following officers: • President: Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH • President-elect: J. Lindsay Cook, MSPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA • Vice President: John R. Mulhausen, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA • Past President: Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH, FAIHA • Secretary: Dina Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP, FAIHA • Treasurer: Donna S. Heidel, CIH, FAIHA • Treasurer-elect: Nicole Greeson, MS, CIH • AIHA Chief Executive Officer: Lawrence Sloan, CAE The following members will serve as AIHA Directors for 2019–2020: • Lucinette Alvarado, MS, CIHSrinivas Durgam, CIH, CSPCDR Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIHPamela Kostle, MS, CIH, FAIHAMichael Ochs, MPA, CIH, CSPMichele M. Twilley, DrPH, CIH

thesynergist | COMMUNITY