thesynergist​ | COMMUNITY

New Board Members Elected
In March, AIHA announced the election results for its 2018-2019 Board of Directors. AIHA members voted for vice president, secretary-elect, and two directors. The following candidates were elected:
J. Lindsay Cook, MSPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA,
was elected AIHA’s new vice president. Cook joined AIHA in 1979, previously served as an AIHA director, and is the association’s current treasurer. He has worked with many AIHA committees, including the Protective Clothing and Equipment Committee and the Indoor Environmental Quality Task Force. Cook is the senior vice president of The EI Group Inc. in Morrisville, N.C.
Dina Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP, FAIHA,
was elected secretary-elect. She has been a member of AIHA since 1983 and has served on many volunteer groups, including the Fellows SIG and the 2015 and 2018 Strategic Direction Task Forces. Siegel, a current AIHA director, has more than 30 years of experience in comprehensive industrial hygiene practice as a field industrial hygienist, a manager, and an IH program manager.
Pamela Kostle, MS, CIH, FAIHA,
was elected as an AIHA director. Kostle has been a member of AIHA since 2000 and has served on several volunteer groups, including the Fellows SIG, Sampling and Laboratory Analysis Committee, and Stewardship and Sustainability Committee. She currently works as the occupational health manager in the Environmental and Occupational Health Unit of the University of Wisconsin-Madison University Health Services.
Michael Ochs, MPA, CIH, CSP,
an AIHA member since 2009, was also elected as a director. He has served on the Laboratory Health and Safety Committee and is past chair of the Stewardship and Sustainability Committee. Ochs, an environmental health and safety assistant director, has more than 20 years of experience developing and managing employees and programs to promote OHS within private, institutional, government, and not-for-profit sectors.

“These new officers and directors offer a range of perspectives and professional experience, and I am thrilled to welcome them in their new roles,” said AIHA President Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH. “I look forward to working with them as we guide our association into the future.”

AIHA’s new Board members will be inducted at AIHA’s annual business meeting on Wednesday, May 23, at AIHce EXP 2018 in Philadelphia, Pa. AIHA’s Board of Directors for 2018–2019 includes the following officers:
  • President:
    Cynthia A. Ostrowski, CIH

  • President-elect:
    Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH

  • Vice President:
    J. Lindsay Cook, MSPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA

  • Past President:
    Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH

  • Secretary:
    Michael Rosenow, MPH, CIH, CSP

  • Treasurer:
    Donna S. Heidel, CIH

  • Secretary-elect:
    Dina Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP, FAIHA

  • AIHA Chief Executive Officer:
    Lawrence Sloan, CAE

The following members will serve as AIHA Directors for 2018–2019:

  • Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP
  • Joselito S. Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS
  • CDR Bradley S. King, PhD, MPH, CIH
  • Pamela Kostle, MS, CIH, FAIHA
  • Michael Ochs, MPA, CIH, CSP
  • Michele M. Twilley, DrPH, CIH