“Future of Sensors” Report Available Online A new report on sensor technology is available from the AIHA Guideline Foundation. “The Future of Sensors” was gifted to the Guideline Foundation by AIHA to further the Foundation’s mission of delivering research that educates the public about protecting worker health. Smyth Awardee to Speak on Preparing the Next Generation of IH, Safety Professionals S.D. Allen Iske, Jr., PhD, CIH, CSP, will receive the Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award at the 2016 AIHA Fall Conference, which will be held Oct. 24–25 in San Antonio, Texas. The honor is presented annually to an individual who has recognized the needs of the industrial hygiene profession and contributed to the improvement of the public’s welfare. As this year’s recipient, Iske will present the annual Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award lecture at the conference. In a session titled “Journey of This Industrial Hygienist,” Iske will reflect on his personal growth within the discipline of industrial hygiene and discuss how to prepare the next generation of IH and safety professionals.
Iske has participated in the efforts of the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) for decades, helping to develop new and better methods for measuring workplace atmospheres and bringing this knowledge and expertise to several of AIHA’s committees. He was one of the editors of the fifth edition of the AIHA Laboratory Quality Assurance Manual in 2015, and had previously authored chapters for two earlier editions of this publication. Iske is also involved in international standards development activities as the official liaison from AIHA’s Sampling and Laboratory Analysis Committee for the ASTM D22 Committee on Air Quality and the ISO/TC 146 Technical Advisory Group on Air Quality.
As an educator at the University of Central Missouri (UCM), Iske shares his knowledge and enthusiasm for industrial hygiene with many students and is currently a Tenured Professor in Safety Sciences. AIHce PDC Instructors Donate More Than $15,000 to AIHF Each year, many instructors of AIHce professional development courses (PDCs) donate their earned honorarium to the American Industrial Hygiene Foundation (AIHF). This year, 63 instructors donated more than $15,000. AIHF is grateful for the instructors’ generosity and continued support. 
Since the endowment was funded, AIHF has awarded more than $1.8 million in scholarships to 629 students. These scholarships have enabled talented students to complete their education and have encouraged the most promising scholars to enter or remain in the industrial hygiene profession. More information about AIHF is available online. Present at AIHce 2017 The submission portal for AIHce 2017 education sessions opened in August, and the deadlines for proposals are coming up this month. The professional development course (PDC) submission deadline is Sept. 14, and Sept. 26 is the deadline to submit proposals for education sessions, which make up the main conference program. 
AIHce 2017 will feature some exciting changes to the format of the conference. Those who are interested in presenting are encouraged to review new resources on the AIHce website, including a breakdown of education session formats and worksheets on preparing proposals for submission.  
Learn more or submit your proposal online. AIHce 2017 will be held June 4–7, in Seattle, Wash. In Memoriam Dr. Ernest Mastromatteo, an honorary member of AIHA, passed away on July 13, 2016, at the age of 92. Mastromatteo was instrumental in the 1964 formation of the Southern Ontario Section of AIHA, which later became the Occupational Hygiene Association of Ontario. In 1986, he received AIHA’s Yant Award for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene, and he was the 2002 recipient of the association’s Distinguished Service Award. 
Mastromatteo was also an honorary member of ACGIH, and served as the organization’s chair in 1969–1970. He became a member of the Threshold Limit Values Committee in 1968, later chairing the committee for five years, from 1985 to 1990. He received the Herbert E. Stokinger Award from ACGIH in 1981, and in 2005, he was invited to present the Jeffrey S. Lee Lecture at AIHce. 
Read more about Mastromatteo’s life on AIHA’s website. 2017 Board of Directors 
Nominations AIHA is seeking nominations for four Board of Directors positions that will be vacated in June 2017: vice president, treasurer-elect, and two director positions. The deadline for nominations is Nov. 4, 2016. Electronic submission forms are available from the AIHA website. Professional Liability Insurance Changes Effective This Month Effective Sept. 7, 2016, AIHA will change the program administrator for its sponsored professional liability insurance plan. Beginning on that date, all program administration, including policy application, issuance and claims administration, will be handled by Alliant Insurance Services, a privately held, national insurance brokerage firm. Read more on the AIHA website. Redesigned JOEH 
Website Launches Taylor & Francis, the publisher of the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene (JOEH), launched a redesigned version of the journal website in August. AIHA members’ online access to JOEH articles remains the same. Learn more on the AIHA website.
AIHA Accolades AIHA’s Students and Early Career Professionals Committee presented Dianna H. Bryant, CIH, CSP, with the Golden Seed Award, which honors individuals’ commitment to promoting the profession of industrial hygiene. Over the years, Bryant has supported students and early career professionals in many ways, including coaching first-time conference presenters, introducing students to employers, supervising internships, and providing counsel about ethical concerns.
Dates and Deadlines September 12–14 IAQ 2016 Conference, Defining Indoor Air Quality: Policy, Standards and Best Practices, in Alexandria, Va. October 3–5 AIHA’s Exposure and Chemical Monitoring - Beyond IH Fundamentals course in Columbus, Ohio. October 24–25 AIHA Fall Conference in San Antonio, Texas. June 4–7, 2017 AIHce 2017 in Seattle, Wash. For a complete list of events, visit AIHA's website.
Dianna H. Bryant receives the Golden Seed Award during the Mark of Excellence Breakfast at AIHce 2016 from then AIHA President Daniel H. Anna.