thesynergist | COMMUNITY
Virtual Mark of Excellence Event Celebrates 2020 Awardees
AIHA’s virtual Mark of Excellence Awards celebrated the achievements of the association’s 2020 award recipients through a series of videos released last month on AIHA’s YouTube channel. The videos, 11 in all, include summaries of AIHA’s awards, remarks from the recipients, and descriptions of their accomplishments.
This year’s AIHA award recipients are:
L. Faye Grimsley, PhD, CIH, FAIHA, Alice Hamilton Award. This award is presented to an outstanding woman who has been engaged in industrial hygiene and occupational health for at least 10 years, and who is dedicated to public and community service, social reform, and technological innovation.
Harry J. Beaulieu, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA, Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award. This award honors outstanding contributions to industrial hygiene and recognized contributions outside the field.
Carter B. Ficklen III, CIH, CSP, Distinguished Service to AIHA Award. Recipients are honored for unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA, proven leadership, and proven influence on public policy or social reform, or public and community service.
M. Andrew Maier, PhD, CIH, DABT, FAIHA, Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award. This award honors significant contributions to industrial hygiene through technical expertise, innovations, or scientific advancements.
Frank Renshaw, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA, Henry F. Smyth, Jr. Award. Recipients demonstrate substantial solutions and contributions to industrial hygiene, thereby significantly impacting and improving public welfare.
Dana M. Hollins, CIH, Kusnetz Award. This award honors an industrial hygienist under the age of 40 and currently employed in the private sector who shows promise for leadership in the profession.
National Council for Occupational Safety and Health, Social Responsibility Award. This award is presented to an individual, group, or entity that develops and promotes practical, socially responsible solutions to issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety.
Steven Verpaele, Yant Award. This award honors an individual residing outside of the United States for outstanding contributions in industrial hygiene or allied fields.
Normally a feature of AIHA’s annual conference, the Mark of Excellence was reimagined as a virtual event after the AIHA Board of Directors canceled the face-to-face portion of AIHce EXP 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The conference was held in an entirely virtual format in June.
For more information about AIHA’s award recipients, visit the 2020 Mark of Excellence webpage.