AIHA Candidates’ Forum
Each year, The Synergist asks candidates for the AIHA Board of Directors to participate in a candidates’ forum. This year’s candidates were asked to respond to the following question: As you may have heard, AIHA has embarked on a multi-year Brand Refresh Initiative. To this end, in your opinion, how could AIHA more effectively promote the value of the profession to external stakeholders “not like ourselves”? Such audiences include but are not necessarily limited to: secondary school students, college STEM students, guidance and career counselors, business C-suite, EHS management, HR and recruiters, military veterans, and labor unions. The candidates’ responses to this question appear on the following pages. This year’s ballot includes two candidates for vice president, two for secretary-elect, and four for director. AIHA members will be notified via email when the election opens on Tuesday, Feb. 18. (Please note that the start date of the election has shifted to accommodate the Presidents Day holiday.) The email will contain a link to the secure online voting site. Paper ballots were mailed in early February to all members who requested them. The paper ballot must be returned postmarked no later than Friday, Feb. 21, to be counted in the election. For more information, please contact AIHA.
AIHA Presidents
AIHA acknowledges the men and women who have served as presidents of the association. Their leadership and vision have contributed significantly to the advancement of the organization and the profession.

2019: Kathleen S. Murphy
2018: Cynthia A. Ostrowski
2017: Deborah Imel Nelson
2016: Steven E. Lacey 2015: Daniel H. Anna 2014: Christine A.D. Lorenzo 2013: Barbara J. Dawson 2012: Allan K. Fleeger 2011: Elizabeth L. Pullen 2010: Michael T. Brandt 2009: Cathy L. Cole 2008: Lindsay E. Booher 2007: Donald J. Hart 2006: Frank M. Renshaw 2005: Roy M. Buchan 2004: Donna M. Doganiero 2003: Thomas G. Grumbles 2002: Gayla J. McCluskey 2001: Henry B. Lick   2000: Steven P. Levine 1999: James R. Thornton 1998: James C. Rock 1997: D. Jeff Burton 1996: S. Z. Mansdorf 1995: Vernon E. Rose 1994: Jeremiah Lynch 1993: Harry J. Ettinger  1992: Henry J. Muranko 1991: Robert E. Sheriff 1990: John L. Henshaw 1989: Frederick M. Toca 1988: William H. Krebs 1987: Emil E. Christofano 1986: Alice C. Farrar 1985: Howard L. Kusnetz 1984: Gene X. Kortsha 1983: Charles H. Powell 1982: Ralph G. Smith 1981: Newell E. Bolton 1980: James E. Long 1979: Donald R. McFee 1978: Paul E. Toth 1977: Paul F. Woolrich 1976: Evan E. Campbell 1975: Edward J. Baier 1974: John A. Pendergrass 1973: Jerome T. Siedlecki 1972: Paul D. Halley 1971: John A. Zapp, Jr. 1970: Franklin W. Church 1969: David W. Fassett 1968: Lewis J. Cralley 1967: Clyde M. Berry 1966: William T. McCormick 1965: Vincent J. Castrop 1964: William E. McCormick 1963: Harry F. Schulte 1962: Kenneth M. Morse 1961: Willis G. Hazard 1960: Jack C. Radcliffe 1959: Elmer P. Wheeler 1958: Kenneth W. Nelson 1957: Charles R. Williams 1956: Lester V. Cralley 1955: Nathan V. Hendricks 1954: Herbert T. Walworth 1953: Henry F. Smyth, Jr. 1952: William R. Bradley 1951: Anna M. Baetjer 1950: Allen D. Brandt 1949: Edgar C. Barnes 1948: James H. Sterner 1947: Theodore F. Hatch 1946: Frank A. Patty 1945: Robert A. Kehoe 1944: John J. Bloomfield 1943: Helmuth H. Schrenk 1942: Philip Drinker 1941: Donald E. Cummings 1940: Warren A. Cook 1939: William P. Yant