William H. Krebs, 1938–2018
The industrial hygiene profession mourns the passing of one of AIHA’s past presidents and storied leaders. William H. Krebs, PhD, CIH, FAIHA, passed away Monday, Oct. 1, 2018. Bill leaves behind his loving wife Renee Ann Krebs; his children Bill (Colleen) Krebs and Sedda (Greg) Wuller; stepson Thomas A. D’Alleva; grandson Rye Wuller; brother Charles (Sally) Krebs, PhD; and a large group of devoted friends. Bill’s career began more than 50 years ago when he received his master’s degree in Industrial Health from the University of Michigan under the watchful eye of Professor Warren Cook, AIHA’s 2nd president and world-renowned industrial hygiene pioneer. After a short time as an industrial hygienist at Lumberman’s Mutual Casualty Co., Bill returned to Michigan to earn his PhD, also in Industrial Health. Bill was undoubtedly inspired to pursue his industrial hygiene career by his late father William T. Krebs, MD, who, among other notable occupational health professionals, was instrumental in the formation of the Michigan Industrial Hygiene Society in 1937.  Bill was an active U of M alumnus and loyal donor. He served on the Dean's Advisory Board at the School of Public Health. He was also a strong supporter of Michigan Public Health students, helping to establish both the William H. Krebs Fund, which provides monetary support for students pursuing industrial hygiene, and the Warren A. Cook Award for doctoral students in industrial hygiene. Bill’s institutional devotion is surpassed only by his personal mentoring of countless individuals. To Bill, it didn’t matter if you were just starting your career or a seasoned professional, or whether the topic was as important as a job change or something less critical, he was always there to give valuable advice.
William H. Krebs (pictured) served as AIHA president in 1988-89. FRANK RENSHAW, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA, is president of the AIHA Yuma Pacific Southwest Local Section. He can be reached via email. Acknowledgments: The author thanks Bill Kilgore, Bob Lieckfield, and Del Malzahn for their contributions to this article.