New Board Members Elected

In March, AIHA announced the election results for its 2016–2017 Board of Directors. AIHA members voted for vice president, secretary-elect, and two directors. The following candidates were elected:

thesynergist | COMMUNITY

Cynthia A. Ostrowski, MS, CIH, FAIHA, was elected as AIHA’s new vice president. Ostrowski has been a member of AIHA since 1988 and previously served on the AIHA Board as a director from 2004 to 2007 and as secretary from 2008–2011. She has been the AIHA treasurer since 2013. She is principal at CAO Consulting, LLC in Rochester Hills, Mich.

Michael Rosenow, MPH, CIH, CSP, was elected secretary-elect. He joined AIHA in 2001 and has served as an AIHA director since 2013. Rosenow is the interim safety manager – JCESR at Argonne National Laboratory in Argonne, Ill.
Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP, was elected as an AIHA director. She has been a member of AIHA since 2005 and is corporate health and safety manager at Caterpillar Inc. in Peoria, Ill.
Joselito S. Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS, was elected as an AIHA director. He has been a member of AIHA since 1992 and is advisor and IMAAC program manager for the Response Directorate, Federal Emergency Management Agency at the Department of Homeland Security in Washington, DC.
“We congratulate and welcome the new elected officers and directors of AIHA’s Board of Directors,” said AIHA President Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP. “They possess extensive knowledge and diverse experience in the field of industrial hygiene, and we are honored to have them as members of the Board. We are confident that these individuals, along with the remaining members of the Board, will continue to provide strong leadership that furthers AIHA’s mission of protecting worker health.”  
The nomination process for the 2017 election will begin in September.
AIHA’s new Board members will be inducted at AIHA’s annual business meeting on Thursday, May 26, at AIHce 2016 in Inner Harbor Baltimore, Md. AIHA’s Board of Directors for 2016–2017 includes the following officers: • President: Steven E. Lacey, PhD, CIH, CSP • President-elect: Deborah Imel Nelson, PhD, CIH • Vice President: Cynthia A. Ostrowski, MS, CIH, FAIHA • Past President: Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH, CSP • Secretary: Kathleen S. Murphy, CIH • Secretary-elect: Michael Rosenow, MPH, CIH, CSP • Treasurer: J. Lindsay Cook, CIH, CSP • Interim Executive Director: Nancy Green, FASAE, CAE The following members will serve as AIHA Directors for 2016–2017: • Donna S. Heidel, CIH • Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP • Joselito S. Ignacio, MA, MPH, CIH, CSP, REHS • Nancy M. McClellan, CIH, CHMM, MPH • Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP • Dina Mary Siegel, CIH, CSP, CBSP