Congratulations, New Distinguished Fellows
Fifteen individuals have been designated as AIHA Fellows this year. The new Fellows will be honored at the second annual Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast at AIHce 2016 in Inner Harbor Baltimore, Md., on Wednesday, May 25. 
Congratulations to the new AIHA Fellows:
Michael B. Amster, CIH, CSP, CHMM, PE: president and principal consultant, M.B. Amster & Associates, Inc. Nominated by the New England Local Section. Kelly F. Bailey, CIH: director of safety, health and environmental services, Vulcan Materials Company. Nominated by the Alabama Local Section. Lee M. Blum, PhD: director of occupational and environmental toxicology, NMS Labs. Nominated by the Biological Monitoring Committee. Pengfei Gao, PhD: research physical scientist, NIOSH. Nominated by the Protective Clothing and Equipment Committee. Renae C. Goldman, CIH: corporate industrial hygiene specialist, 3M Company. Nominated by the Nanotechnology Working Group. Steven N. Hacker, CIH: global EHS&S manager, Novus International. Nominated by the Noise Committee. Linn D. Havelick, CIH: owner, Havelick & Associates, LLC. Nominated by the Rocky Mountain Local Section. Ralph H. Hinterman, MPH, CIH: senior industrial hygienist/trainer. Nominated by the Chicago Local Section. Steven D. Jahn, CIH: senior technical advisor, Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC. Nominated by the Fellows SIG. Mark A. Katchen, CIH: managing principal, The Phylmar Group, Inc. Nominated by the International Affairs Committee. Pamela A. Kostle, CIH: industrial hygiene specialist, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Nominated by the Sampling and Laboratory Analysis Committee. Stuart R. Mirowitz, DrPH, CIH, CSP: safety manager, Pfizer Pharmaceuticals. Nominated by the New York Metro Local Section. J. Torey Nalbone, PhD, CIH: associate professor, University of Texas at Tyler. At-large nomination. Ron L. Pearson, MS, CIH: principal consultant, Environmental Health & Safety, Inc. Nominated by the Upper Midwest Local Section. Thomas J. Slavin, CIH, CSP, CSHM, CPEA: president, Slavin OSH Group, LLC. Nominated by the Yuma Pacific Southwest Local Section.
“On behalf of AIHA, it is an honor to recognize this year's distinguished Fellows for their outstanding contributions to the industrial hygiene profession and to AIHA,” said AIHA President Daniel H. Anna, PhD, CIH. “The Fellow designation has become a symbol of remarkable achievement for AIHA members, and these individuals have been recognized by their colleagues for their extraordinary accomplishments in the field.”
The Fellow designation was established to recognize members who have been full members in good standing for a minimum of 15 years and have made recognized contributions to industrial hygiene or related disciplines, either through research, leadership, publications, education, or service to AIHA. Fellows are nominated by a local section, special interest group, committee, or other formal AIHA entity. Individuals are approved as Fellows by the AIHA Board of Directors after a recommendation by the Awards Committee. The Fellow designation is limited to no more than five percent of the AIHA membership. 
More information, including the full list of AIHA Fellows, is available on AIHA's website. In Memoriam Mitchell R. Zavon, MD, CIH, passed away on March 15 at the age of 92. Zavon, an AIHA Fellow, was also active for many years on ACGIH’s Threshold Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Biological Exposure Indices Committees. While maintaining a consulting practice in occupational medicine, he spent more than two decades on the faculty of the University of Cincinnati School of Medicine, where he worked with AIHA member Eula Bingham to document benzidine exposure and urinary bladder carcinogenesis in Cincinnati. Read his full obituary online. AIHA Accolades As Wendy P. Benison retires, the Florida Local Section of AIHA recognizes her service to the organization: “Wendy Benison is a special, selfless member, volunteering her time serving the Florida AIHA for 25 years. Wendy volunteered for every Board position in whatever capacity was needed. We wish her all the best in retirement.” Read more on AIHA's website. Winners’ Circle Craig Maunder of Ontario and 
Kimberly Pitney of Ohio are the first-quarter 2016 winners of the online survey drawing that appears in the Synergist Weekly e-newsletter. Both are lucky recipients of $200 American Express gift cards. Remember to take the online survey for your chance to win! AIHA, NCICS Announce Second China-U.S. 
Occupational Health 
Symposium AIHA and the National Center for International Cooperation in Work Safety (NCICS) will host the second China-U.S. Occupational Health Symposium in Guangzhou, China, July 12–13, 2016. The two-day program will focus on global occupational health management practices, prevention, control, and rehabilitation of occupational injury and disease, and will feature cutting-edge vendors and services from across the occupational and environmental health and safety spectrum in the Expo.
For more information on programming and registration, please e-mail Erin Breece, AIHA’s manager of global education, at Registration is open online.
Interested in exhibiting at this event? Please e-mail Maria Tong from AIHA’s China office at
Dates and Deadlines
May 21–26 AIHce 2016 (co-located with Stewardship 2016) in Inner Harbor Baltimore, Md. July 12–13 2nd China-U.S. Occupational Health Symposium in Guangzhou, China. October 3–5 AIHA’s Exposure and Chemical Monitoring - Beyond IH Fundamentals course in Columbus, Ohio. October 24–25 AIHA Fall Conference in San Antonio, Texas.
For a complete list of events, visit AIHA's website.